About Stornoway Historical Society

“The objective of the Society is to advance the education of the public about the history, heritage, and culture of Stornoway and the Island of Lewis.” (Article II, SHS Constitution).

The Stornoway Historical Society was formed in 1992. To date, it has been instrumental in raising awareness of the general public to the need to preserve all aspects of the town’s early and most recent history. It has actively participated in the presentation of information on the town through exhibitions, public lectures, and publications.

Membership of the Society is open to all who have an interest active and passive, in the history of the town.


Honorary President:  Sandy Matheson
Chair: Malcolm Macdonald
Vice-Chair: Angus McCormack
Secretary: William Foulger
Treasurer: John A Smith
Membership Secretary Violet Smith

Applications to join the Society should be made to the Membership Secretary: 13 Balmerino Drive, Stornoway, Isle of Lewis, HS1 2TD.

Picture Galleries

Click image to go to the gallery.